awmact.github.io

image

Connecticut Chapter of the Air & Waste Management Association

The Connecticut Chapter of the Air & Waste Management Association, New England Section, is a group of environmental professionals with related scientific, engineering, and health backgrounds from private sector companies, government agencies, and academia. Regular meetings are scheduled throughout the year and include evening dinners with speakers on current environmental topics of interest, other educational events, and site tours. The Chapter supports CT student science fairs and sponsors an annual scholarship for high school and college students.

Upcoming Event

September 11, 2019 (6:00 PM to 8:30 PM) - Dinner Meeting. An Evening with CTDEEP’s Commissioner Katie Dykes. Dakota of Rocky Hill, CT.

Click Here for PDF with full event info and sign-up instructions.

Please join the CT Chapter of the Air & Waste Management Association (AWMA) for an insightful and lively discussion with CTDEEP’s Commissioner Katie Dykes. Come hear firsthand what Ms. Dykes views as the top priorities, issues, challenges facing CTDEEP and the regulated community including Ms. Dykes 20 by ‘20 initiative. The 20 by ‘20 initiative will set forth 20 measurable process improvements between today and December 31, 2020 aimed at increasing predictability, efficiency, and transparency of DEEP’s regulatory processes, with accountability provided through a public dashboard of key indicators.

Ms. Dykes was nominated by Governor Ned Lamont to serve as the Commissioner of CTDEEP, and was confirmed on February 20, 2019. She previously served as Chair of the Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA) from 2015-2018, and as Deputy Commissioner for Energy at Connecticut DEEP from 2012-2015. Katie also served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc. (RGGI) from 2014 to 2017.

As always, food and drink and discussion with your fellow attendees will add to the evening.

Past Events

Event Photo
July 24, 2019 - Two Roads Brewery “Area 2” Tour - Stratford, CT
February 26, 2019 - CTDEEP Air Bureau Chief Tracy Babbidge - Dakota Restaurant - Rocky Hill, CT
June 25-28, 2018 - A&WMA Annual Conference and Exhibition - Connecticut Convention Center - Hartford, CT

Student Scholarship

The Connecticut Chapter of the Air & Waste Management Association has initiated a scholarship program to improve knowledge and skills in the fields of air and waste management. Applicants must be Connecticut residents and high school seniors accepted as full-time college students or full-time college students. Applicants must be pursuing or planning to pursue courses of study in science or engineering leading to careers in the environmental field, especially air quality or waste management.

The Chapter will award one scholarship with a value of $1000 for the upcoming academic year to the most qualified individual meeting the requirements.

Applications (click here to download) must be submitted by the first business day following March 31st, each year.

Membership Information

For questions or information about membership in the Connecticut Chapter of A&WMA-NES, please contact the Chapter at awmact@gmail.com.

A&WMA-NES Connecticut Chapter Officers and Board Members

Officers

Position Name Affiliation Phone E-mail
Chair David Krochko Woodard & Curran 888-265-8969 dkrochko@woodardcurran.com
Vice Chair Iain Kinsella Yale University 203-436-8034 iain.kinsella@yale.edu
Treasurer Michael Newman Woodard & Curran 888-265-8969 mnewman@woodardcurran.com
Secretary Jennifer Beaulieu Woodard & Curran 888-265-8969 jbeaulieu@woodardcurran.com
Immediate Past Chair Dana Lowes-Hobson TRC 860-298-6203 dlowes-hobson@trcsolutions.com

Board of Directors

Position Name Affiliation Phone E-mail
Director Ledge Chamberlain Retired   hlchamb@cox.net
Director Dennis Demchak Retired   dennisd178@me.com
Director Lee Hoffman Pullman & Comley 860-424-4315 lhoffman@pullcom.com
Director Steve Holtman Woodard & Curran 888-265-8969 sholtman@woodardcurran.com
Director Robert Isner CT Dept of Energy & Environment Protection 860-424-3264 robert.isner@ct.gov
Director Doug Murray TRC 860-298-6240 dmurray@trcsolutions.com

Education Committee

Position Name Affiliation Phone E-mail
Chair Evan Bali Canomara LLC 860-865-1166 evan@canomara.com

Membership Committee

Position Name Affiliation Phone E-mail
Chair Imre Berty Leidos 203-483-6398 imre.j.berty@leidos.com

Social Media Committee

Position Name Affiliation Phone E-mail
Chair Patrick Wright TRC 860-298-6295 pwright@trcsolutions.com